RAFTING ON RIVER JIZERA - MALÁ SKÁLA

Hits: 1144

 

Through fairytale Bohemian Paradise by the Greenway Jizera route

Bohemian Paradise acquired its name for a reason. It is a genuine paradise for those who enjoy walks between high stone walls, long-distance views of a wonderful landscape and getting to know elegant chateaux, as well as those who like to spend their holidays on the saddle of a bicycle.

People recognized Jizera River over ten thousand years ago. The Celts called Isora – Sharp River, and the Slavs changed the name to Jizera. Identically to other rivers, it has always been the centre of living. At first, the commerce routes passed through the river valley which resulted in the formation of settlements. The settlement formation gradually continued in higher locations accompanied by the development of non-agricultural style of living which resulted in higher utilization of the river natural corridor. The routes were replaced with the paths, later with the roads for carriages, roads, and with railway in the 19th century. The river is further used for sources of power. Water has been restricted by means of weirs, factories and power plants have been constructed.

Nevertheless, the river valley remained a beautiful part of countryside which should not be passed in a car or train. The Association Český ráj (Bohemian Paradise Association) and other partners have introduced a project called Greenway Jizera, which aims to form an attractive and safe corridor alongside the river, ideal for a walk or bike ride, roller skating, scooter riding, and a boat trip.

Greenvay Jizera is an attractive and safe corridor alongside the river, ideal for a walk or bike ride, roller skating, scooter riding, and a boat trip.

RAFT - MALÁ SKÁLA – DOLÁNKY (about 8 kilometres)

Maloskalský weir under Žlutá plovárna is always navigable, the sluice gate in the middle drags a bit but the boat perforation is not possible. The Boučkův farm is placed behind the bridge on the left bank. Two kilometres further down, in village Křížky, there is an interesting place for a stop, potentially overnight stay.

The section from Malá Skála to Dolánky (Turnov) is the most frequented part of lower Jizera, but it still not as full as Vltava, Sázava, and Lužnice in the summer. In the beautiful valley, clear water full of salmon trout and grayling, it is easy to pass the sand and pebble river bed during low waters in few locations with shallow waters. Zrcadlová koza, traditional watermen pub, invites for a stop in front of Dolánky on the left river bank.

PLACES OF INTEREST AND DESTINATIONS:

DOLÁNKY – part of Turnov at the northern edge of the town at the confluence of the Jizera and the Vazovec Stream. The option of swimming, refreshments in summer, a car park, boat hire.

THE DLASK FARM – a former farmstead and village magistrate’s office built in 1716 – a typical example of a building from the Jizera area. The building includes permanent exhibitions of the Museum of the Bohemian Paradise pertaining to rural dwellings and agricultural tools.

FRÝDŠTEJN – the remains of a cliff castle whose builder made use of a sandstone promontory extending from the cliff. There is a circular tower above it. It was established in the first half of the 14th century. The Beautification Association in Turnov bought the castle from the Princes of Rohan in 1892. This fairytale backdrop has been used by film makers who have filmed several fairy tales for children.

VRANOV – built around 1425 on a narrow rock ridge as an almost invincible guard tower. It has been abandoned since the end of the 15th century. In 1802, the Malá Skála estate with the remains of the castle was purchased by the businessman Fr. Z. Römisch. He built a neo-gothic summer house on the site of the former chapel, established a lookout point high above the Jizera and placed a number of gravestones, monuments, signs, stone urns and dates recalling mythical and historical individuals and events in the remains of the castle. The modified castle area began to be called the Pantheon.

MALÁ SKÁLA – a municipality on the banks of the Jizera under the slopes of the Vranov Ridge and Sokol. It is a starting point for trips and a tourism centre. There is the option of swimming in the river or hiring a boat, a rope park, a selection of refreshments and accommodation, a car park, a train and a bus stop. The municipality includes a number of homesteads of the Jizera area type – the best-know is the Bouček Farmstead.

THE BOUČEK FARMSTEAD – a timbered, multi-storeyed building with a gabled roof and a high end gable in the bricked section dated 1813. It houses a permanent exhibition on the history of the Malá Skála area and an art gallery. There is a stylised pub on the ground floor.

ZRCADLOVÁ KOZA – a famous restaurant for walkers and cyclists, it was established in 1890, it is a popular destination among Turnov residents and a popular stop for hikers, cyclists and canoeists. A renewed rest area with the option of refreshments, accommodation and boat hire.

SUCHÉ SKÁLY - The attractive rock crest of solid sandstone sticks out of and above the forest: from a distance, it resembles an organ or dragon`s back. The distinctive shapes form the unmistakable silhouette of the Maloskalsko region.

The Suché Skály Rocks are situated about 3 km from Malá Skála and 2 km from Líšný. The Suché Skály, former Kantorovy Varhany (Teacher' s Organ) are now nicknamed the Czech Dolomites. The rock coulisse is the result of shifting of the earth blocks when the bottom layer of the sandstone was pushed up and turned perpendicularly to the earth surface. There is no such unique geomorphologic locality in our country. The Suché Skály are attractive for climbers. There are approximately 20 towers – for example, the Hlavní, the Sokolí, etc. In 1965 the Suché Skály were declared a national natural monument.

 

Photo